Notes moved to the "Trash" are automatically deleted 60 days after they were deleted. To remove them sooner, open the menu (≡) at the top left of the Notes screen → "Trash" and tap the trash icon at the top right ("Empty trash"), or swipe a note left and tap the delete button to remove notes one at a time.
* Notes deleted from the Trash cannot be restored.